Our People

Group Leaders

Professor Kylie Catchpole

Professor Kylie Catchpole is an Australian Research Council Future Fellow at the Research School of Engineering at the Australian National University. Her research interests are in perovskite solar cells, solar water splitting, and nanotechnology for solar cell applications. She has authored over 100 publications, and her work on plasmonic solar cells has been featured in the news sections of Science magazine and The Economist. Her work on nanophotonic light trapping was listed as one of MIT Technology Review's '10 most important emerging technologies'. In 2015 she was awarded the John Booker medal for Engineering Science from the Academy of Science. 


Professor Klaus Weber

Dr Klaus Weber is Professor in the Research School of Engineering at the ANU. His current research interests are focused on perovskite photovoltaics, specifically for application to high efficiency tandem cells. He co-invented and developed several thin film cell technologies including SLIVER technology, for which he was closely involved in the commercial development including the current ARENA project (formerly with Transform Solar). He has authored over over 140 publications. He is a recipient of the Weeks Award by the International Solar Energy Society and the Alan Walsh Medal for Service to Industry by the Australian Institute of Physics. His work on SLIVER technology received numerous other awards including the Banksia Award and the Aichi World Expo Global Eco-Tech 100 award.


Professor Thomas White

A/Prof White has a BSc(Hons) and PhD in physics from the University of Sydney, and has previously held research positions in the United States (Bell Laboratories) and the UK (University of St Andrews).  He has published widely in areas of theoretical and experimental optics and photonics, nanostructure enhancement of light-matter interactions, and photovoltaics.  His current research focus is on perovskite solar cells and tandems, with a particular interest in quantifying recombination and optical losses in these devices.  Other research interests include perovskite light emitters and lasers, and their applications.


Dr Hieu Nguyen

Dr Nguyen received his bachelor degree in electrical engineering from Portland State University, Oregon in 2011 with a GPA of 3.97/4.0. From 2011 to early 2013, he was a product yield engineer at Intel where he received the Intel Global Test Manufacturing Group (TMG) Excellence award in Q4, 2012.

In 12/2016, Dr Nguyen received his PhD in engineering (photovoltaics) from the Australian National University (ANU). In 2017, he was a visiting scientist at the United States' National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL). Currently, Dr Nguyen is a senior research fellow and senior lecturer at the ANU. 

Research Fellows

Dr The Duong


Dr Leiping Duan


Dr Jun Peng


Dr Daniel Walter


Dr Yahuitl Osorio Mayon


Dr Heping Shen


Dr Yiliang Wu


Dr Anne Haggren


Dr Viqar Ahmad


Dr Hualin Zhan

PhD Students

Ms Naeimeh Mozaffari


Ms Grace Tabi


Mr Anh Dinh Bui


Mr Thuan Nguyen


Mr Li-Chun Chang


Mr Khoa Nguyen